Latest Post

The Glittering Elegance of the Mitzi Alyssa Chandelier Glowing in Style: The Allure of Glass Hanging Candles Discover the Timeless Elegance of Terracotta Wall Decorations The Warm and Soothing Glow of Himalayan Salt Lamp: A Natural Way to Improve Wellness Dazzling Capiz Shell Chandelier Adds Sparkle and Style to Your Dining Room Metal and Glass Light Fixtures: The Perfect Blend of Style and Functionality

Scandinavian design has become synonymous with minimalism, simplicity, and functionality. It has captured the attention of design enthusiasts around the world and has become a popular trend in interior and product design. The Scandinavian Design Award is an annual competition that celebrates the best of Scandinavian design. This article will provide an overview of the award, its history, categories, and winners.


The Scandinavian Design Award was established in 2014 to promote and recognize excellence in Scandinavian design. The award is organized by the Danish Design Centre, Design Forum Finland, Norwegian Centre for Design and Architecture, and Svensk Form in Sweden. The competition is open to designers, design companies, and manufacturers from Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden.


The Scandinavian Design Award has several categories that reflect the diversity of design from the region. These categories include:


This category includes chairs, tables, cabinets, and other furniture items designed for the home or office.


This category includes lamps, chandeliers, and other lighting fixtures designed for residential and commercial applications.

Product Design

This category includes consumer products such as electronics, kitchenware, and home accessories.


This category includes fabrics, carpeting, and other textile products.


The Scandinavian Design Award has recognized many exceptional designers and design companies from the region. Here are some notable winners in recent years:

2019 Winners

  • Furniture: TAKT
  • Lighting: Normann Copenhagen
  • Product Design: Stelton
  • Textile: Kvadrat

2018 Winners

  • Furniture: Hay
  • Lighting: Muuto
  • Product Design: Bang & Olufsen
  • Textile: Kasthall

2017 Winners

  • Furniture: Carl Hansen & Søn
  • Lighting: Gubi
  • Product Design: Menu
  • Textile: Pia Wallén

The Scandinavian Design Award continues to recognize the best in Scandinavian design and promote the region’s unique approach to aesthetics and functionality. With each passing year, the competition inspires new design thinking and showcases the wealth of talent from Denmark, Finland, Norway, and Sweden. The award has become a significant platform for designers and design companies to showcase their work and receive recognition for their contributions to the design world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *